UNCTAD

Nous aidons les pays en développement à profiter plus équitablement et plus efficacement des avantages d’une économie mondialisée. Nous les aidons aussi à faire face aux défis potentiels d’une plus grande intégration économique. Pour ce faire, nous fournissons des analyses, facilitons la recherche de consensus et offrons une assistance technique. Cela les aide à utiliser le commerce, l’investissement, la finance et la technologie comme vecteurs d’un développement inclusif et durable.

La CNUCED est un organe intergouvernemental permanent créé par l’Assemblée générale des Nations Unies en 1964. Notre siège social est situé à Genève, en Suisse, et nous avons des bureaux à New York et à Addis-Abeba

La CNUCED fait partie du Secrétariat de l’ONU. Nous rendons compte à l’Assemblée générale des Nations Unies et au Conseil Economique et Social, mais nous avons nos propres membres, dirigeants et budget. Nous faisons également partie du Groupe des Nations Unies pour le Développement..

Nous vous prions de vous référer au tableau du système des Nations Unies (PDF) pour voir notre place dans la famille des Nations Unies..

L'Agence suédoise de coopération internationale au développement

SIDA, est une agence gouvernementale travaillant au nom du parlement et du gouvernement suédois, chargée de réduire la pauvreté dans le monde. Par son travail et en coopération avec d’autres, l’ASDI contribue à la mise en œuvre des objectifs mondiaux du développement durable.

Au Moyen-Orient et en Afrique du Nord (MENA), le travail de l’ASDI repose sur deux stratégies : une stratégie régionale MENA et une stratégie spécifique pour la crise en Syrie.

ASDI’s and UNCTAD’s work underway in the MENA region aims at fostering regional economic development as a prerequisite for facilitating regional and international trade through addressing the intricacies inherent in the institutional setup at local and regional level. The activities committed to under the umbrella of the MENA UNCTAD project on Consumer Protection and Competition policy will contribute to the development of regional networks, to the sharing of knowledge and experiences, to shaping opinion and to increased accountability, as well as to the development of more effective regional cooperation and collaboration and more effective organizations.

Vers l’intégration économique de la région MENA
Le programme de la CNUCED pour la région MENA, lancé en 2015, vise à stimuler l’intégration économique régionale, notamment en renforçant les marchés grâce à de meilleures politiques de concurrence et de protection du consommateur dans la région du Moyen-Orient et de l’Afrique du Nord.
Compte tenu de l’interrelation entre le droit de la concurrence et le droit et la politique de la consommation, les deux combinés fournissent les outils nécessaires pour la confiance du marché, la confiance du consommateur stimulant ainsi les meilleures pratiques, le développement économique ayant également des impacts sur l’accès à l’information et la réduction de la pauvreté.

La concurrence

La concurrence stimule l’innovation, la productivité et la compétitivité, contribuant ainsi à un environnement commercial efficace. Cela génère de la croissance économique et de l’emploi. Elle crée des possibilités pour les petites et moyennes entreprises, supprime les obstacles qui protègent les élites bien établies et réduit les possibilités de corruption.

Protection du consommateur

La protection du consommateur nous profite à tous en nous assurant que nous avons tous le droit : d’accéder à des produits non dangereux, à une information adéquate qui permet de faire des choix éclairés en fonction des souhaits et besoins individuels de chacun et à un recours efficace.

Égalité des sexes

La réduction des inégalités entre les sexes a un impact positif sur les résultats de la politique commerciale et la croissance économique. En outre, l’objectif du développement durable sur l’égalité des sexes et l’autonomisation des femmes fait des femmes des agents économiques importants et pertinents.

Témoignages

« Je remercie la Suède d’avoir financé ce projet qui a un grand impact sur le renforcement de la protection du consommateur dans les pays bénéficiaires. »
Ms. Fatiha Akharif

Directeur par intérim de la Qualité et de la Surveillance du Marché, Ministère de l'industrie, du Commerce, de l'Investissement et de l'Economie Numérique, Maroc

« Je suis confiant que c’est un bon projet et nous espérons continuer jusqu’à la fin, et nous espérons échanger nos points de vue, nos expériences et apprendre les uns des autres. En fin de compte, nous sommes tous gagnants dans ce projet.”
Mr. Atef Yacoub

Ancien Président de l'Agence pour la protection des consommateurs, Égypte

La CNUCED et la région MENA en chiffres

Participants au renforcement des capacités

Centres régionaux

Publications (Arabic, English and French)

Événements

UNCTAD

We support developing countries to access the benefits of a globalized economy more fairly and effectively. And we help equip them to deal with the potential drawbacks of greater economic integration. To do this, we provide analysis, facilitate consensus-building, and offer technical assistance. This helps them to use trade, investment, finance, and technology as vehicles for inclusive and sustainable development.

UNCTAD is a permanent intergovernmental body established by the United Nations General Assembly in 1964. Our headquarters are located in Geneva, Switzerland, and we have offices in New York and Addis Ababa.

UNCTAD is part of the UN Secretariat. We report to the UN General Assembly and the Economic and Social Council but have our own membership, leadership, and budget. We are also part of the United Nations Development Group.

Take a look at the UN system chart (PDF) to see our place in the UN family.

The Swedish International Development Cooperation Agency

SIDA, is a government agency working on behalf of the Swedish parliament and government, tasked with reducing poverty in the world. Through its work and in cooperation with others, SIDA, contributes to the implementation of the Global Goals for Sustainable Development.

In the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) SIDA’s work is based on two strategies; a regional MENA strategy and a specific strategy for the crisis in Syria.

SIDA’s and UNCTAD’s work underway in the MENA region aims at fostering regional economic development as a prerequisite for facilitating regional and international trade through addressing the intricacies inherent in the institutional setup at local and regional level. The activities committed to under the umbrella of the MENA UNCTAD project on Consumer Protection and Competition policy will contribute to the development of regional networks, to the sharing of knowledge and experiences, to shaping opinion and to increased accountability, as well as to the development of more effective regional cooperation and collaboration and more effective organizations.

Towards MENA economic integration

UNCTAD MENA programme launched in 2015, aims to boost regional economic integration, among other topics, by strengthening markets through improved competition and consumer protection policies in the Middle East and North Africa region.
Considering the interrelation between Competition Law and Consumer Law and Policy, both combined provide the necessary tools for market trust, consumer trust thus stimulating best practices, economic development also having impacts on access to information and poverty reduction.

Competition

Competition stimulates innovation, productivity and competitiveness, contributing to an effective business environment. This generates economic growth and employment. It creates possibilities for small and medium sized enterprises, removes barriers that protect entrenched elites and reduces opportunities for corruption.

Consumer protection

Consumer protection benefits us all by ensuring that we all have the right: to access non-hazardous products; to adequate information to enable them to make informed choices according to individual wishes and needs; and to effective redress.

Gender equality

The reduction of gender inequalities has a positive impact on trade policy outcomes and economic growth. Apart from that, SDG N. 5 on Gender equality and women empowerment renders women an important and relevant role as economic agents.

Testimonials

“I thank Sweden for financing this project which has a big impact on strengthening consumer protection in beneficiary countries”

Ms. Fatiha Akharif

Acting Director of Quality and Market Surveillance, Ministry for Industry, Trade, Investment and Digital Economy, Morocco

“I believe this is a good project and we hope we continue until the end, and we hope to exchange views, experiences and teach each other. At the end of the day we all are winners in this project “

Mr. Atef Yacoub

Former Chairman, Consumer Protection Agency, Egypt

UNCTAD MENA in Numbers

Capacity building participants

Regional centers

Publications (Arabic, English and French)

Events